

# NORTH SCHUYLKILL SCHOOL DISTRICT

Home of the Spartans ~~ Home of the Spartans ~~

# Regular Meeting - May 15, 2024

A Regular Meeting of the North Schuylkill Board of Education was held on the above date in the LGI Room of the North Schuylkill Junior/Senior High School.

Action was taken on the following agenda items:

## Finance Committee

# Approved:

## Thance Commu

Financial reports and check registers

🐔 The Resolution in support of Constitutional Public School Funding

# Physical Facilities

## Approved:

Facility Use Applications

# <u>Personnel</u>

## Approved:

The following individuals as ESY Instructors and other positions for 2024: Madison Reeder, Matt Wislosky, Jackie O'Prey, Amy Santai, Brett Budwash (substitute), Erin Anderson (substitute), Amy Ryder, Marcus Peel and Craig Demko

- K Christine Burns as a Social Worker
- K change in title for Kim Groody
- Fifteen additional summer work days for Secondary and Elementary Guidance Counselors
- The Department Chairpersons for the 2024-2025 school year
- The Grade Level Coordinators for the 2024-2025 school year
- Karla Herring as a Homebound Teacher for the 2024-2025 school year

K Childbearing/childrearing leave requests for Ellen Geidner, Secondary Physical Education Teacher and Rachael Damiter, Speech and Language Pathologist

ESY Paraprofessionals for 2024 as follows: Jen Conti, Kerry Snyder, Sandy Wilson, Keri Barnes, Ashley Griffiths, Kathy Farrone, Denise Brayford, Michelle Wagner, Sharon White, Jen Himes and Amber Barlow

- K Accepted the resignation of Adrienne Jacobs, Part-Time Paraprofessional
- An Intermittent FMLA Leave Request for Gail Jones, Secretary

**F** The following individuals as Temporary Part-Time Summer Maintenance/Custodians for the Summer of 2024: Eugene Zdiera and Anthony Tenaglia

# Curriculum & Instructional Programs

## Approved:

Etters of Agreement for SAP and ESAP for the 2024-2025 school year

\land An agreement with Diversified Treatment Alternative Centers, LLC

#### Food Service, Safety, Transportation

#### Approved:

🐔 A Field Trip Request to Pioneer Tunnel, Ashland

K Adding Nalasia Holifield, Michael Vernosky, William Vinson-Goodwin and Shannon Zinavage to the roster of School Bus Drivers/Van Drivers/Aides

## Approved:

#### Extracurricular Programs

K The following Supplemental Positions for the 2024-2025 school year: Victoria Hornberger – 4H Club Brandi Kline – 7<sup>th</sup> – 9<sup>th</sup> Grade Fall Production Director Jason Kline – 7<sup>th</sup> – 9<sup>th</sup> Grade Fall Production Tech Director Joseph Wyatt – Academic Team Advisor Merri Lynn Craig – Act 48 Coordinator Mike Evans, Joe Tomtishen & Jenna Dyszel – AEVIDUM Club Kerri Herring – Art Club Advisor Jacob Shoener – Band (Concert Band) Jacob Shoener – Band (Jazz Band) Jacob Shoener – Band Director **Douglas Cole – Band Director Assistant** Michelle Schwartz – Band Director (Elementary) Nevaida Rau – Band Front Advisor Michelle Schwartz – Choral Director, Elementary Brandi Kline – Choral Director, JSHS Michelle Schwartz – Choral Director, JSHS Assistant Joe Tomtishen & Leah Briggs – Class Advisors, Freshmen Amy Maziekas & Nick Brayford – Class Advisors, Sophomores Nick Brayford & Amy Maziekas - Class Advisors, Juniors Nick Brayford & Marc Wislosky – Class Advisors Seniors Bonita Leib – Diversity Club Advisor Rachael Pasco & Carrie Miller – Elementary Art Club (Show) Sandy Selgrade – Elementary Envirothon Danielle Moyer – JSHS Envirothon Tammey Fey – Elementary Envirothon Assistant Gene Lapointe – eSports Advisor Justin Sharp – Fire/Rescue Amy Maziekas & Marc Wislosky – Friends Forever Kristen Weinreich – Friends Forever, Elementary John Cuthie – Honor Society Advisor Leah Briggs – Honor Society – Math Jamie Wagner – Honor Society – English Lindsay Furman – Honor Society – Foreign Language Kelly Boyer – Honor Society – Science Joseph Wyatt – Honor Society – Social Studies Jennifer Rex – Math Counts Advisor Joann Miller & Michelle Misiewicz - News & Media Group Advisors Melanie Fowler – Pep Club Brandi Kline – Play Director Sarah Barket – Play Director Assistant Michelle Schwartz – Play Music Director

Jason Kline – Play Tech Director Melanie Fowler – SADD Advisor Melissa Lorady & Joe Tomtishen – Senior Project Advisors Jen Rex – Ski Club Advisor Michelle Misiewicz – Social Media Advisor Danielle Moyer – Spanish Club Advisor Gene Lapointe – Spelling Bee Coordinator Nathan Hampton – STEM – Junior High Gene Lapointe – STEM – Senior High Victoria Hornberger – Student Council Advisor Melanie Fowler – TAT Advisor Richard Leibig – Tech Lead Teacher - Elementary Michelle Misiewicz – Tech Lead Teacher – JSHS Craig Wagner – Trap Club Scott Frew – Weightlifting Advisor (1<sup>st</sup> Half) Pete Stanakis – Weightlifting Advisor (2<sup>nd</sup> Half) Joanne Miller – Yearbook Advisor Michelle Misiewicz – Yearbook Assistant Advisor

Allison Hughes as a Football Cheerleading Advisor for the 2024 Fall Season For the following Marching Band Volunteers for the 2024-2025 school year: Amy Lapointe; Mary Ann Stump – Pit Instructor and Derek Seiger – Drum Line Instructor

## Policy/Legislative

Approved:

The First Reading of Policy 626.1 and waived the Second Reading

The First Reading of Policy 227.1

K Mary Anne Woodward as Treasurer

#### <u>Students of the Month</u>

The following Students of the Month were recognized by their teachers and presented a School Themed Shirt from the Board:

8<sup>th</sup> Grade – Aurora Bennett 11<sup>th</sup> Grade – Claire Kowalonek

Kindergarten Students were nominated by: Ms. VanderMeer, Ms. Miller, Ms. Hoak, Ms. Artley, Mr. Farronato, Ms. Borden and Ms. Marnell

> Self-Starter – Dylan Heyer Positive – Kian Cullen Ambitious – Lydia Copenhaver Resourceful – McKenna Peters Team Player – Kinsley Gross Authentic – Adilene Lopez Saliche Natural Leader – Jordan McCabe

The following **Retirees** were recognized by the Administration for their years of service and were presented with a rocking chair from the Board:

| Sean Rebuck     | Maintenance Specialist       | 35 years      |
|-----------------|------------------------------|---------------|
| Lorie Smith     | Secretary                    | 25 years      |
| Ann Rizzardi    | Paraprofessional             | 18 years      |
| Lori Leibig     | Custodial/Maintenance Worker | 14 years      |
| Cindy Zimmerman | Paraprofessional             | 11 years      |
| Aileen McCabe   | Elementary Teacher           | 19 years (28) |

Merri Lynn Craig, Board Secretary

<u>Upcoming Meetings</u> June 19, 2024 – Committee Meetings – 7:30 a.m. – Regular Meeting – 8:00 a.m.

NORTH SCHUYLKILL SCHOOL DISTRICT