

NORTH SCHUYLKILL SCHOOL DISTRICT

Home of the Spartans ~~ Home of the Spartans ~~

Regular Meeting - March 19, 2025

A Regular Meeting of the North Schuylkill Board of Education was held on the above date in the LGI Room of the North Schuylkill Junior/Senior High School.

Action was taken on the following agenda items:

Finance Committee

Approved:

Financial reports and check registers

痛 a Real Estate Tax Exemption for a Disabled Veteran

f the proposal with PenTeleData for Internet Service

Motion Failed:

fon the sale of a repository property in Girardville

Physical Facilities

Approved:

Facility Use Applications

Personnel

Approved:

The following individuals as ESY Instructors and other positions for 2025: Erin Anderson, Madison Reeder, Allie Lesher, Matt Wislosky, Devon Sinkovich, Brett Budwash, Amy Ryder, Marcus Peel and Craig Demko

Travis Hinkle and Nicole Kane as instructors for the Schuylkill ACHIEVE After School Program

Cheri Macknis as a COTA

ESY Paraprofessionals and a Nurse Assistant for 2025 as follows: Jen Himes, Keri Barnes, Janina Plichta, Denise Brayford, Sharon White, Donna Quinn, Angela Hannon, Michelle Wagner and Michaelle O'Hearn

f the termination of Stephanie Paul, Part-Time Custodian

Curriculum & Instructional Programs

Approved:

痛 an agreement with The Meadows Psychiatric Center for the 2025-2026 and 2026-2027 school years

fthe Final Exam Schedule for 2024-2025

Food Service, Safety, Transportation

Approved:

Adding Wanda Hightower, Brian Koreisl and Preston Grow to the roster of School Bus Drivers/Van Drivers/Aides
Field Trip Requests to the Electric City Aquarium and Reptile Den, Scranton, PA; Zoo America, Hershey, PA; DaVinci Science Center, Allentown, PA; Knoebels, Elysburg, PA; Lehigh Valley Zoo, Schnecksville, PA and Urban Air Adventure Park, Harrisburg, PA

Extracurricular Programs

Approved:

The appointment of Anthony Agosti as Head Boys Basketball Coach for the 2025-2026 Winter Season

The appointment of Jake Balkiewicz as a Volunteer Baseball Coach for the Spring 2025 Season

The appointment of the following Volunteers for the NS Trap Club for the 2024-2025 school year:

Brady Simms Justin Sharp
James Buhay Vincent Bartusik
Jason Reichwein Derrick Hendricks

Policy/Legislative

Approved:

 $oldsymbol{\mathbb{F}}$ The First Reading of the following policies: 103, 104 and 234

Other Reports

Approved:

The Schuylkill IU 29 Program Budget for 2025-2026

The Schuylkill Technology Center Budget for 2025-2026

The Notice of Adoption of Policies, Procedures and Use of Funds with the IU 29

Committee of the Whole Meeting

The following **Students of the Month** were recognized by their teachers and presented a School Themed Shirt from the Board:

7th Grade - Claire Snyder nominated by Mr. Lapointe
10th Grade - Morghan Dyer nominated by Ms. Herring
12th Grade - Luke Combs nominated by Mr. Scheib

Self-Starter - Quinn Sabaday nominated by Ms. Wesner
Positive - Lily Dziczek nominated by Ms. Dinich
Ambitious - Adelina Popalis nominated by Ms. Rau
Resourceful - Delaney Brobst nominated by Ms. Witt
Team Player - Colton Ney nominated by Ms. Mattern
Authentic - Eliana Rex nominated by Ms. Ziolko
Natural Leader - Brock Huben nominated by Ms. Capone

Merri Lynn Craig, Board Secretary



Upcoming Meetings

April 9, 2025 – Committee of the Whole – 6:30 p.m.

- Committee Meetings - 7:00 p.m.

- Regular Meeting - immediately following Committee Meetings