NORTH SCHUYLKILL SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Briefs Regular Meeting – May 17, 2023

A regular meeting of the North Schuylkill Board of Education was held on the above date in the LGI Room of the North Schuylkill Junior/Senior High School.

Action was taken on the following agenda items:

Finance Committee

Approved the financial reports and check registers

Approved real estate tax exemptions for disabled veterans

Approved the proposal from the McClure Company for the replacement of the cooling tower at the JSHS

Approved the proposal from Marco for Konica Minolta copiers

Approved the attendance of Bob Amos at an overnight conference

Approved the purchase of band uniforms from DeMoulin Brothers and Company

Approved a service agreement for Trash Removal Services with Waste Management of Pennsylvania

Physical Facilities

Approved Facility Use Applications

Approved the Grass Cutting Contract with D&M Lawn Care

<u>Personnel</u>

Approved the following individuals as teachers with the ACHIEVE After School Program: Angel Kempsey, Kayla Witt, Samantha Shinkus, Angela Potts, Steven Wolfgang, Jennifer Bennett, Mary Lou Leibensperger and Aileen McCabe

Approved the following individuals as Coordinators with the ACHIEVE After School Program: Kimberly Groody, Karla Herring and Leah Briggs

Approved the Act 93 Agreement effective July 1, 2023 through June 30, 2028

Approved the employment contract for Robert Amos, Business Manager, effective July 1, 2023 through June 30, 2028

Approved a revised childbearing/childrearing leave request for Taia Carpency, Secondary Science Teacher

Approved fifteen additional summer work days for Secondary and Elementary Guidance Counselors **Approved** Samantha Shinkus and Madeline Schuettler as Elementary Teachers

Approved Jennifer Bennett as a Long-Term Substitute Elementary Teacher

Approved Logan Spevak as a Business, Computer and Technology Teacher

Approved mentor teachers

Approved Nicole Brouse as an ESY Paraprofessional for 2023

Accepted the resignations of Deb Bright, Part-Time Paraprofessional, Charles Dillman, Part-Time Cafeteria Worker and Jennifer Cory, Full-time Second Shift/Weekend Custodian/Maintenance Worker and Activity Director

Approved Anthony Moran an a Second Shift/Weekend Custodian/Maintenance Worker

Curriculum & Instructional Programs

Approved the attendance of Dr. Robert Ackell and Bob Amos at an overnight conference **Approved** an agreement with Diversified Treatment Alternative Centers, LLC **Approved** Letters of Agreements for SAP and ESAP for the 2023-2024 school year **Approved** the revised 2022-2023 Title I Letter of Agreement with IU 29 **Approved** the adoption of textbooks

Extracurricular Programs

Approved the following Supplemental Position for the 2023-2024 school year: Samantha White – Spelling Bee Coordinator Approved Brett Budwash and Craig Demko as Bocce Ball Co-Coaches for the 2023-2024 school year

Policy/Legislative

Approved the first reading of the following policy: 251 Mary Anne Woodward was elected Treasurer

Committee of the Whole Meeting

The following **Students of the Month** were recognized by their teachers and presented a School Themed Shirt from the Board:

7 th 8 th 8 th 10 th 12 th	Grade - Grade - Grade -	Otilio Lopez-Montz <i>nominated</i> by <i>Ms. Hughes</i> Jaeden Boccaleri <i>nominated</i> by <i>Ms. Moyer</i> David Luna <i>nominated</i> by <i>Ms. White</i> Kaylee Cochenour <i>nominated</i> by <i>Ms. Palmerio</i> Katilina Addison <i>nominated</i> by <i>Mr. Wislosky</i>
Kindergarten -		Hannah Stine nominated by Ms. Borden
6 th	Grade -	Braiden Davis nominated by Ms. Ackell, Ms. Corinchock, Ms. Ney, Mr. Wolfgang, Ms. Selgrade and Mr. Yablonsky
6 th	Grade -	Gabe Donavan nominated by Ms. Ackell, Ms. Corinchock, Ms. Ney, Mr. Wolfgang, Ms. Selgrade and Mr. Yablonsky
6 th	Grade -	Braedyn Lazor nominated by Ms. Ackell, Ms. Corinchock, Ms. Ney, Mr. Wolfgang, Ms. Selgrade and Mr. Yablonsky

The following **Retirees** were recognized by the Administration for their years of service and were presented with a rocking chair from the Board:

Dottie Miller	Full-Time Paraprofessional Full-Time Aide	28 years (30) 20 years
Doris Phelan	Part-Time Custodian	8 years
Jennifer Bell	Elementary Teacher	33 years
Cheryl Cooper	Elementary Teacher	30 years
Paula Hornberger	Speech & Language Pathologist	18 years (33)
Scott Houser	Elementary Teacher	35 years
Beth Huntsinger	Title I Coordinator/Teacher	39 years
Nancy Kaminsky	Elementary Teacher	32 years

Lynn Minalda	Health & Physical Education Teacher	33 years
Sue Prushinski	Secondary Guidance Counselor	16 years (24)
Ann Subick	Special Education Teacher	18 years (36)
Anne Tarantelli	Elementary Teacher	35 years
Stacey Wilinsky	Special Education Teacher	15 years (30)
Missy Whitaker	Elementary Principal	7 years (32)

Merri Lynn Craig, Board Secretary

<u>Upcoming Meetings</u> June 14, 2023 – Committee Meetings – 6:30 p.m. June 21, 2023 – Regular Meeting – 7:00 p.m.