NORTH SCHUYLKILL SCHOOL DISTRICT Board Briefs Regular Meeting – April 19, 2023

A regular meeting of the North Schuylkill Board of Education was held on the above date in the LGI Room of the North Schuylkill Junior/Senior High School.

Action was taken on the following agenda items:

Finance Committee

Approved the financial reports and check registers Approved the Proposed Final Budget for the 2023-2024 school year Approved the establishment of the current local taxes and real estate tax rates Approved the dates for the Real Estate and Occupational Assessment Tax payments Approved the sale of a repository property in Ashland Approved the upgrade to the PenTeleData Contract

Physical Facilities

Approved Facility Use Applications **Approved** the proposals from Ultra-Seal for sealing

Personnel

Approved Robert Shaffer as Dean of Students **Approved** Deneen Reese as Supervisor of Special Education **Approved** the following individuals as ESY Instructors and other positions for 2023: Mary Lang, Matt Wislosky, Jackie O'Prey, Abby Malloy, Michelle Ziolko, Aileen McCabe, Devon Sinkovich (substitute), Erin Anderson (substitute), Amy Ryder, Rachael Damiter, Leanne Mogish, Paula Fetterolf and Craig Demko **Approved** Carly Hoak and Dylan Farronato as Elementary Teachers Approved Devann Malafarina as a Secondary Science Teacher **Approved** Samantha Shinkus as a Long-Term Substitute Elementary Teacher Acknowledged transfer/change of assignments for the 2023-2024 school year Approved a childbearing/childrearing leave request for Kelsey VanderMeer, Elementary Teacher **Approved** mentor teachers Approved the following individuals as Homebound Teachers for the 2023-2024 school year: Kelly Boyer, Christine Greblick and Karla Herring **Approved** Sandy Selgrade as GLC for the remainder of the 2022-2023 school year **Approved** the Department Chairpersons for the 2023-2024 school year Approved the Grade Level Coordinators for the 2023-2024 school year Approved ESY Paraprofessionals for 2023 as follows: Karen Puglia, Jen Himes, Keri Barnes, Janina Plichta, Ashley Griffiths, Kathy Farrone and Denise Brayford (Substitute)

Curriculum & Instructional Programs

Approved the MOU with the Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania for an Early College Program **Approved** the MOU with Harrisburg Area Community College for a Dual Enrollment Program **Approved** the revised 2022-2023 Title III Language Instruction for English Learners and Immigrant Students Memorandum of Understanding with IU 29

Food Service, Safety, Transportation

Approved The Nutrition Group as the District's Food Service Provider for the 2023-2024 school year **Approved** adding Karen Presto and Danielle Yoncuski to the School Bus Drivers/Van Drivers/Aides Roster for 2022-2023

Extracurricular Programs

Approved the following Supplemental Positions for the 2023-2024 school year: Victoria Bright & Morgan Bretz – 4H Club Brandi Kline – 7th – 9th Grade Fall Production Director Jason Kline – 7th – 9th Grade Fall Production Tech Director Joseph Wyatt – Academic Team Advisor Merri Lynn Craig – Act 48 Coordinator Mike Evans & Joe Tomtishen – AEVIDUM Club Kerri Herring – Art Club Advisor Jacob Shoener – Band (Concert Band) Jacob Shoener – Band Director Douglas Cole – Band Director Assistant Michelle Schwartz – Band Director (Elementary) Nevaida Rau – Band Front Advisor Michelle Schwartz – Choral Director, Elementary Brandi Kline – Choral Director, JSHS Michelle Schwartz – Choral Director, SHS Assistant Amy Maziekas & Nick Brayford – Class Advisors, Freshmen Amy Maziekas & Nick Brayford – Class Advisors, Sophomores Nick Brayford & Marc Wislosky – Class Advisors, Juniors Joe Tomtishen & Leah Briggs – Class Advisors Seniors Gene Lapointe – Creative Tech Club Advisor Bonita Leib – Diversity Club Advisor Rachael Pasco & Carrie Miller – Elementary Art Club (Show) John Walsh – Elementary Envirothon Danielle Moyer – JSHS Envirothon Morgan Bretz – SHS Envirothon Assistant Kieran Connors – Elementary Envirothon Assistant Gene Lapointe – eSports Advisor Joseph Wyatt – Fire/Rescue Amy Maziekas & Marc Wislosky – Friends Forever Kristen Weinreich – Friends Forever, Elementary John Cuthie – Honor Society Advisor Leah Briggs – Honor Society – Math Jamie Wagner – Honor Society – English Lindsay Furman – Honor Society – Foreign Language Kelly Boyer – Honor Society – Science Joseph Wyatt – Honor Society – Social Studies Jennifer Rex – Math Counts Advisor Joann Miller & Michelle Misiewicz – News & Media Group Advisors

Marc Wislosky – Pep Club Brandi Kline – Play Director Sarah Barket – Play Director Assistant Michelle Schwartz – Play Music Director Jason Kline – Play Tech Director Melanie Fowler – SADD Advisor Melissa Lorady & Joe Tomtishen – Senior Project Advisors Jen Rex – Ski Club Advisor Michelle Misiewicz – Social Media Advisor Danielle Moyer – Spanish Club Advisor Nathan Hampton – STEM – Junior High Gene Lapointe – STEM – Senior High Victoria Bright – Student Council Advisor Melanie Fowler – TAT Advisor Richard Leibig – Tech Lead Teacher - Elementary Michelle Misiewicz – Tech Lead Teacher – JSHS Craig Wagner – Trap Club Scott Frew – Weightlifting Advisor (1st Half) Pete Stanakis – Weightlifting Advisor (2nd Half) Joanne Miller – Yearbook Advisor Michelle Misiewicz – Yearbook Assistant Advisor

Approved the appointment of the following individuals for the 2023-2024 Winter Season: William Bracey – Head Boys Basketball Coach Rich Wetzel – Head Girls Basketball Coach Leah Briggs – Wrestling Cheerleading Advisor Corey Fetterolf – Head Wrestling Coach Melissa Tenaglia – Varsity Basketball Cheerleading Advisor Ellen Geidner – Basketball/Wrestling Cheerleading Advisor Marcie Ackell – Head Swimming Coach

Accepted the resignations of Joe Tomtishen and Anthony Russo, Assistant Football Coaches Approved the appointment of the following coaches for the 2023 Fall Season: Assistant Football Coaches – Gene Lapointe, Corey Mentzer, Dylan Farronato Assistant Girls Soccer Coach – Madeline Frew Volunteer Assistant Girls Soccer Coach – Sydney Casey

Policy/Legislative

Approved the second reading of the following policies: 137, 137.1, 137.2, 137.3 and 800.2 **Approved** the Transgender and Gender Diverse Students – Ensuring Equity and Nondiscrimination Guidelines

Merri Lynn Craig, Board Secretary

Upcoming Meetings

May 10, 2023 – Committee Meetings – 6:30 p.m. May 17, 2023 – Committee of the Whole – 6:30 p.m. May 17, 2023 – Regular Meeting – 7:00 p.m.